Cosmetic Lotro

On foreign ground

With Rise of Isengard, all restrictions regarding the Wardrobe were lifted. This implies possibilities that so far had not occurred to me. Not until I started talking to a kinmate who plays a lot of PvMP on the freepside. He had a piece of armour that he did not have the rank for yet so couldn’t wear. I asked him to test if he could put it into the wardrobe. It worked! Then I did something that I had never done in my life, I took a horse ride to the Ettenmoors, a place that I have always avoided like the plague, until I discovered that you can actually buy any kind of armour there, from any class, and put it in your wardrobe!

UPDATE: since Update 5 this is no longer possible. Turbine has decided we should not be able to barter for items we do not have the proficiency or class for!

I was lucky to have a very generous kinmate help me out and give me a lot of those spirit stones. Others I bought on the auction house and from a player selling them in the global chat channel. I never ever killed a reaver (or weaver or heaver or what have you) and I am using PvMP armour in the wardrobe!!
This discovery has placed me in the poor house again, because spirit stones are not cheap, but I am sooo thrilled to finally have my much desired minstrel shoulders! And to anyone who would like these shoulders but doesn’t play a minstrel: the great news is that you can wear them now! All classes can talk to any class barter npc (quite different from Moria and Mirkwood where you have to be the right class to be able to barter). Perhaps I am not sharing any news here, and am just a little dense and slow to have discovered this only now, but I am excited to tell you all about this little outfit paradise in the Coldfells and very pleased about my new outfit too!

If you want to know where a certain armour piece or cosmetic comes from, you can look it up in the Lorebook, by typing its name into the search box. You can equip any piece of armour cosmetically through the wardrobe, even armour that is not meant for your class or level.

Head: Helm of the Hidden Dagger, crimson dye (Ettenmoors barter, burglar)
Chest
: Elegant Dress, crimson dye (skirmish cosmetic)
Shoulders: Pauldrons of the Wandering Bard, crimson dye (Ettenmoors barter, minstrel)

16 comments

    • Hi Frey I think I got the Luminous for 1g each and got the Glimmering for free from a kinnie. The Dull are the cheapest and also very easy to farm yourself in the Delving Fror. However when I tried that the Creeps also could enter the Fror so I immediately got one-shot by an orc hunter 😀

    • Yay I already have the “scaly robe” on my Loremaster! Will post outfit soon. However those armour pieces are a bit more expensive as they require Brilliant spirit stones (they go for 30g each on my server) and Tyrant’s Crests and Chieftain’s Brooches which are not cheap either. But I had some gold to spend and cosmetics are all I ever spend it on anyway 🙂

  1. Does that mean that we can eventually share the outfit with others ? (i usually allow people to put some of the outfit i have and they love into their wardrobe. Would this be possible too with the Ettern pieces or are they bind on acquire ?

  2. Oh my god i actually just squealed with happiness at this news! I don’t go to the Ettenmoors but i can definately afford some of those spirit stones 😛 \o/ amazing!

  3. Emi

    I went over to the moors to check out the scene and barter for the burg helmet on my 75 hunter. I had the right stones but was unable to barter for it as my class was incompatible. Seems there is that restriction to keep in mind! 😦

      • Emi

        I’m so heartbroken, now I’m going to have to level up a burg and mini to grind out the watcher. The base colour of the pvp sets was a bit easier to work with too. Not cool turbine! :/

  4. They could flag the armors with an hidden cosmetic possibility so we could still barter those but not use them as armor if this is the fear they have.
    I still wonder why each time they add something to the rp style, they removed another one….

Leave a comment