Cosmetic Lotro

Water spirit

Water spirits were creatures that Tolkien only mentioned fleetingly in his early works. Just like air spirits and earth spirits, they were lesser spirits that can be seen as servants of the Maiar and Tolkien never cared to elaborate much on them. Nevertheless the realm of the sylphs, mermaids and faeries is one that I love. It is enchanting, alluring and perhaps even a bit romantic. I see these little sprites and fays everywhere, as they do their invisible work in nature and even support our daily routines by whispering a reminder in the nick of time, just so we don’t forget our keys on the kitchen table. Indeed these lesser spirits may not seem to be important in the grand scheme of things, but neither did hobbits. Just because something or someone is small, doesn’t mean they are insignificant.

This outfit started with the new Harvest-brew Circlet, a cosmetic from the Harvestmath Festival. It just reminded me so much of nature spirits that I had to create something to emulate that. Thankfully my Loremaster was very helpful and though she is not a nature spirit herself, she does have very close communion with them. The circlet itself cannot be dyed. I don’t know if that is a bug or intended, because in the dressing room preview you can choose different dye colour options. It’s just that nothing happens to the circlet when you choose a different colour, so you’re stuck with the light green hue of the little pine cones berries acorns hops. I guess that’s the never-ending challenge of every outfitter: how do I match the undyeable parts? Thankfully there’s not just one answer to that dilemma, so everyone will have a different solution to match this circlet!

Head: Harvest-brew Circlet, cannot be dyed (Harvestmath Festival cosmetic)
Chest
: Elegant Dress, rust dye (Cosmetic vendor or Lotro store cosmetic)
Shoulders: Wynmar’s End, dark green dye (Great River quest reward, medium)
Back: Cloak of the Dragonfly, gold dye (Lotro store cosmetic)

Bewaren

38 comments

  1. That first shot is so gorgeous, with the reflection of the cloak in the pond! She looks like she’s gracefully rising out of the water like a nymph!

    I kind of hope that the berries on the circlet were meant to be dyeable and that it gets addressed, but even if not — still love the circlet! 🙂

  2. Amber

    I tend to think the the berries are actually hops? For like, making beer? I’m not sure why I thought that, but that’s what occurred to me. 🙂

  3. It’s surprising how many colourways this circlet fits in with, considering it’s undyeable…

    You’ve not only matched the lovely circlet, but found a way to make a dress I, personally, don’t like the appearance of to look pleasant. And then that utterly delicious dragonfly cloak…
    Not to even mention the concept of the outfit and your screencaps. 🙂

    Thanks for letting us see this!

    Those shoulders made it to my version, too. Gotta fix the pictures and upload the entry… Truth be told, it’s the hops that sealed the deal for me. Grainstalks, hops and golden leaves… didn’t Thranduil have a leafy crown? 😉

    • Indeed a lot of surpising combinations are possible for the circlet, despite its undyeable pale green hops. I think it’s the golden leaves that make it so attractive and versatile though. I too love the leaves going all the way around the circlet, it’s truly something special. Thank you for your kind words and go update you blog with those pictures! 🙂

  4. I recently nabbed this cloak from the AH. I say recently, it’s been loitering on an alt for goodness knows how long by now. I just can’t think of an original way to present it yet. I keep thinking back to your Damselfly Elf and how superlative that outfit was. Then I hug an ice cream tub and cry over my lack of creativity haha 😛

    http://www.fbclotro.wordpress.com

  5. beorneoth

    Grrr, I was working on an outfit similar in idea for my hobbit lad. So, you got there first. Still be posting it on LotroCinna though…

  6. Oh, that’s lovely. I just roleplayed a Goldberry-like water spirit for an event for my kin, so I was thrilled to see this! Enchanting outfit, very romantic. And, as always, stunning screenshots.

    • Oh Golberry! I never thought of her as a water spirit but you could be not far from the truth. She’s so enigmatic. I don’t know what kind of even that was but there are moments I wish I lived on Landroval 🙂

  7. Athelthryth

    What a lovely outfit! The outfit reminds me of the tale of the Red Maid, before she became corrupted. (I’m can’t say a whole lot about that, for fear of spoiling the game’s storyline…;) I’m glad that you mention the lesser spirits of Tolkien’s world. Not every fan knows about them. I was always intrigued by beings like Goldberry. They seem so mystical and fairy-like, like something you would hear about in a folk tale.

    • Aaah you’re the second person to mention Goldberry in this context. And I hadn’t even thought about the red maid, but that makes sense too! Thank you for sharing and your kind comment. 🙂

  8. The third to last screenshot here is brilliant, I love it (where her arms are out-flung and the cape is slightly curling forward around her legs. The others are good too, but that one is awesome.

Leave a comment