Cosmetic Lotro

Stand my ground

This outfit took a while to come together! Tired of most of my stuff in my wardrobe, I decided it was time I started a more dedicated grind for Medallions of the Northmen, to purchase some of the beautiful Ost Dunhoth armour pieces that are available in Enedwaith. My minstrel has her set from last year, but it’s not the best set cosmetically, so I really wanted some pieces from other classes too.
For a brief period after Update 5 in November, cross class bartering was removed from the vendor on Harndirion. This meant that you could only purchase these items with a character from the right class. With Update 6 this was changed again and now you can barter for these pieces with any class.
The fastest way to grind for Medallions of the Northmen is to run North Cotton Farm and Stoneheight Tier 2 instances, and grind 20 medallions twice weekly by doing the repeatable quest “Denizens of Ost Dunhoth” that the barter gives you. The mobs for this quest are right outside the entrance to Ost Dunhoth. I must warn you though that this grind gets very boring, especially if you’re doing it on multiple characters.

The inspiration for this particular outfit came from an outfit by Preludeinz that she published on her beautiful blog “The Hobbits in the Stories”. She designed a very rugged, sturdy looking Rune-keeper Elf male outfit and I immediately fell in love with it. The idea of a more robust, leathery look on a Rune-keeper really spoke to me. I wanted brown and dark earthy colours, the look had to be feminine but tough at the same time. No fancy Elvish decorations, no dresses, no robes, no cloth. I am very pleased with how this turned out!
*off topic* The title for this outfit was taken from a song by my favorite Dutch band “Within Temptation”. If you like harmonic rock, I highly recommend listening (loud)!

Shoulders: Lesser Arrow of the West Shoulder Guards, burgundy dye (OD Hunter set)
Chest
: Jacket of the Oathesworn, black dye (Wardens of Annuminas barter, Warden set)
Hands: Heavy Plated Dunlending Gauntlets, black dye (Dunland quest reward, heavy)
Legs: Lesser Arrow of the West Leggings, burgundy dye (OD Hunter set)
Feet: (Cer.) Boots of the Graven Word, black dye (Skirmish camp, Rift cosmetic)
Satchel: Rune-satchel of the Third Age (75), black dye

16 comments

  1. I love the more sober look of this outfit. The link for the Preludeinz outfit is sending me to the Ost Dunhoth quest page though. Not that your outfit wasn’t enough for me, I just wanted to check out the inspiration 🙂

  2. Ivy

    I love the Ost Dunhoth pieces too, they have an elegance some of the others lack. Good clean lines and interesting dye patterns. The hunter legs are the first (and only so far) piece I’ve picked up. Off to Cotton Farms now, and I’d forgotton about the Denizens quest. Thanks for the reminder.

    My RK would love this look! Soo many tokens though…

  3. amazing outfit and I love the WT reference – I adore them myself and would do anything to get to their live concert (not so easy in Czech Republic :))

  4. preludeinz

    Thank you, hymne! It’s an honour to inspire someone so talented and I love the way yo make those leggings work! They’re very evocative of a robe without actually being a robe. I love it and thank you again! The last piece I need for my rk is the hunter’s headpiece from od 🙂 but! The grind, the grind, and me between internets right now.

    • Indeed the leggings have the feel of a robe but are not, and are open enough to reveal the leggings. I don’t like them as much on a male elf as the opening at the front stands out to wide in a weird kind of way. But I love your rune-keeper already! He’s perfect! The hunter headpiece would suite him well because it would still leave his lovely blond hair visible. 😛

  5. Pingback: Of leather, fur and feathers | Wandering Around Arda

Leave a comment