Cosmetic Lotro

Silvan shadows

I’ve always wondered how I was supposed to just hide my elf in the shadows since she was always wearing colourful dresses, but now I’ve got the gear for it! 🙂
Kidding aside, all the Dunland gear seems to have amazing colour properties. Everything dyes in solid colours, including solid black. It’s beautiful! However, I am beginning to wonder if that has something to do with changing an overall colour layer within the game that has affected for example the Robe of Viisaus and the Hood of Night, in the way that their “elusive” colour layer has been changed into a solid layer. A layer that is being used for all Dunland gear. I don’t remember the exact details, but I read a dev diary long ago about colouring in Lotro and how everything is coded in layers and pixels. Perhaps by making solid white and solid black possible, the older layers had to be changed, which caused a side-effect on other older gear.
Well that’s just a theory. In the meantime I am driving my scholar crazy because she has to keep refilling my stack of black dyes.

Chest: Dunlending’s Hunting Jacket, black dye (Dunlendings Friend reputation reward, medium)

Head: Leather Helm of the Leaping Stag, black dye (Dunland quest reward, medium)

Shoulders: Embroidered Mantle of the Dunland Healer, black dye (Dunland quest reward, light)

Hands: Dolen-Lhaw, black dye (Vol.III Book 4 reward, medium)

Feet: Boar-Hide Boots, black dye (Dunlendings Ally reputation reward, medium)


11 comments

  1. Pingback: Killed in a Smiling Accident. » Blog Archive » Looking good and dressing well is a necessity. Having a purpose in life is not.

  2. Pingback: Burning Eye For The Fellowship Guy — MMO Melting Pot

  3. Pointy

    I like this one – very piratical on the boots. 😀 You’re right about the colour, it’s very deep. Now what was that about the Hood of Night? Does it not dye pale any more?

    I’ve tried those helms on several times, and in the dressing room they do something peculiar to any cloak being worn – do they have that effect in ‘reality’, when you’re actually wearing it for real?

    • Yup the dressing room bugs up the cloak preview when previewing this helm. I have bug reported it already and I’m sure others have too but they can only address so many things at a time. It does not however affect the cloak design on your character. The Hood of Night is in this post.

  4. I think you’re right about the color layers. I’m sorry about your robe but I don’t mind at all the solid colors shown in your outfit.
    The boots are beautiful !! 😀

Leave a comment