Cosmetic Lotro

Lady of the Lake

2013-007a

2013-007b

The Lady of the Lake is the mysterious ruler of Avalon in the Arthurian legend. There are several related characters in the role which include giving King Arthur his sword Excalibur, enchanting Merlin, and raising Lancelot after the death of his father.
Nenuial or Lake Evendim to me is always reminiscent of Avalon somehow, even though it’s from a different world and a different legend.
Not motivated to do any raiding or end game content at the moment, I started a new character and thought she was perfect to model as the Lady of the Lake!

2013-007c

2013-007d

In Lotro fashion I often find that the rule “less is more” is true. There are many cool shoulders, cloaks and helmets to add to an outfit, but sometimes you just have to allow the simplicity of a gown speak for itself. This particular dress is only available at the reputation vendor in Thangulhad, and can be purchased at kindred standing with the Elves of Mirkwood. There is a long sleeved version available from the barter as well (which is also sold in the Lotro store), but the sleeveless version is more appropriate when going for a swim. I fell in love with the Barad Guldur runekeeper headpiece, and just these two simple pieces together made the perfect outfit for my Lady of Avalon.

2013-007e

2013-007f

Head: Runemaker’s Hat, sea blue dye (Classic vendor, Barad Guldur light armour Runekeeper)
Chest: Elegant Elven Dress, sea blue dye (Reputation vendor Thangulhad, Mirkwood)

14 comments

  1. Lasswen

    Wow, love it, and certainly agree with the ‘less is more’ theory too. I’m very much a fan of Arthurian legends, and even have a couple of characters with ‘Avalon’ based names, and one ‘Morgaine’ πŸ™‚
    That second last screen shot is particularly awesome!

    • Thank you! And that one screenshot took a while to get just right! Odd thing was that I had to use a different sword for that one, because the sword I was using wouldn’t appear in the animation. Very frustrating but it turned out as planned in the end! πŸ™‚

  2. wow the third screenshot, she looks beautiful and dangerous too, you captured the mood really well; and as you said, the outfit is simple, but really there is no need to add other pieces, is nice as it is, I so like it! πŸ™‚

  3. Gorgeous! Her lovely, dusky skin tone, straight white hair and pale eyes are just as much a part of this unique outfit as the cosmetic pieces! You really created a mood and a story with the screenshots too, I can just see her rising out of the lake, sword-first, in that second-last shot. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Starry! It’s true that when I created her, I went to the extremes of skin tone and eye color, just because I wanted to make her different from my other three female race of man characters. It now turns out she is the most beautiful of them all ha ha! I will be making more use of her for sure. And that screenshot was actually what I had in mind when I started the session. It was hard because in Lotro you cannot submerge your character under water, so it took some trial and error to get something similar to what I wanted. πŸ™‚

  4. Cagney of Landroval

    These screenshots are gorgeous. All of your Evendim photo sessions turn out so pretty. That head-piece, I must have!

    • Thank you Cagney and yes that head piece is gorgeous. I didn’t really know how beautiful it was until I used it, because it doesn’t really come out so well in the preview dressing room. It’s truly worth getting!

  5. Ooooh wooow!
    The outfit, lady and the screenshots are soo lovely and magical! ^_^
    I love the reflections in the water and how she really looks like she’s magicaly comming out from the lake.
    Less is certainly more in this beautiful outfit, its simply perfect! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

