Cosmetic Lotro

Spring Festival Cosmetics & Mount 2012


Simbelmynë Dress – 18 Spring Leaves


Simbelmynë Tunic & Trousers – 18 Spring Leaves


Simbelmynë Cloak – 18 Spring Leaves


Wide Brimmed Spring Hat – 15 Spring Leaves      Simbelmynë Circlet – 15 Spring Leaves

I don’t know who has been hired into the Cosmetics department at Turbine lately, but ever since the release of Rise of Isengard the armour designs and festival cosmetics have truly become something special. I am very impressed with everything that has been released over the past year (with exception of the Draigoch armour) and I hope that the team that worked on all these items is going to continue with this trend!
All older cosmetic items like the Spring Flinger Tunic and last year’s cloaks are also still available.
I love the Spring Festival Horse and Cosmetics, I know it’s going to be a grind but I will savour every minute, knowing that these beautiful goodies are waiting as a reward! Thank you Turbine for giving us something so special!

As has become a tradition on my blog, a preview of the new Spring Festival 2012 mount! I am absolutely in love with it and the matching cosmetics are just to die (or to dye) for. I’ll put up the preview of those later. This steed has been given a name that is commensurate with its looks: Simbelmynë Steed. Simbelmynë was the name given to the flower in Rohan, a name translated as Evermind: a reference to the memories of the dead on whose tombs the flower grew.
Just like with the Anniversary horse, this mount costs 2 race tokens and 40 Spring Leaves. In return it does have 200 morale (previous festival horses have 100). Perhaps this is a new trend for Festival horses, more grinding but slightly better stats. At least it will keep me busy on the race tracks a bit longer!

24 comments

  1. cnrincon

    Do you have any idea if the bug that came last year with the Spring Festival cloaks (which became hooded after update… 2, I think) will be solved anytime or should we just spent the leaves again and buy the correct version?

  2. Pointy

    I’m really liking this new theme for the designs, it’s very pretty. The tunic looks almost kimono-ish with the way the patterning sits. :) The dres does seem to bulk out the arms a bit though – my very slim elf minstrel looks lke she’s borrowed my champions arms when she wears it. :D

    And yaaaa circlet :D

  3. These new cosmetics are going to look appalling on Dwarves, but that just means more tokens for my Hobbit ladies to shop with. I love these cosmetics, they look so much more refined than alot of the other previous festivals. Is it just me or are the festival cosmetics getting better and better with each season? Obviously gonna have to grind the races too, need that horse for the collection!

  4. awww the Wide Brimmed Spring Hat is my new favourite headgear! I had too little time this week for LOTRO but after seeing this, I think I’m gonna log in and get the cosmetics right away :D

  5. Love, love these! And yes, I thought the same thing about the style, very chinoiserie-esque. Lol, say that 5 times fast. Thank you, thank you Hymne.

  6. Brigo of Crickhollow

    Ok. Sorry. Male hobbit hunter here. My eyes are better at aiming than matching, but my sister Daililly will love this and I want it to look nice. Do the Simbelmynë outfits really complement the Simbelmynë mount? I’m really undecided. Anyone have suggestions on alternative dying schemes that might complement the mount better? Or do most think the default best? Thank you for all your work, Hymne!

    • Hi Brigo, thanks for the heads up! The cosmetics all match the design of the horse tack, except that you need to dye them Sea Blue to be a perfect colour match. Personally I prefer to leave them as they are as I like the default biscuit colour very much and it still looks nice with the horse.

  7. scptt

    This fesitival has made the grind for horses much more bearable…. why you ask when its 2 race tokens and 40 leaves for a horse? Because the new horse is so girly that I refuse to get it on my male toons. One LOTRO forum used the words “My Little Pony” and that just about sums it up. Am I playing LOTRO or Disney’s Pixie Hollow? Way too girly for any Dwarf toon or any male toon for that matter. Anyway my Dwarf Champ has the Ale Association goat anyway and it rocks!

    • What is it about male players that they feel the need to complain about feminine designs and belittle something that is beautifully done and decorated with flowers and bright colours with the term “my little pony”? Do male players feel they have an exclusive entitlement to male designs on festival horses? I never heard a girl complain that the AA goat is way too cocky or the Duskwarden steed far too macho. Being condescending about something that other (both male and female) players enjoy is not appreciated on this blog.

      • Brigo of Crickhollow

        I see a few points maybe to clarify:
        1. critique of horse–yes, I wish I could mute the tack a bit. Many find it too “toyish”–men and women.
        2. Too girlie for male alts. Duh! So are the dresses! Big whoop! Don’t buy it! (Though I’d be all over kilts!)
        3. My kin has a many women as men. I LOVE that! I have 6 alts, one is female and I want her tastefully feminine like my wife. I’m glad I don’t have to grind this horse for the other 5 just like there are some mounts that she’d never want either! Keep the diversity coming!
        Whew. That was long. :)

      • I absolutely reveled in the fact that the horse is girly as all get-out. In my humble opinion, it’s about dang time. I adore the thing. I mean really too, everything is named after a flower. A pretty, girly little flower that apparently grows on graves. Which is fairly metal. Is it really that girly, or is it secretly METAL? (I’m going with both, personally.)

Leave a Reply

