Cosmetic Lotro

Twilight adventure

This weekend is all about waiting for Update 6 to go live, at least it is for me. I have two characters prepared to start the journey into The Great River and I’m absolutely excited about it. When first entering Thinglad it has a kind of Dark Lothl√≥rien feel to it. Not quite like Mirkwood, but similar. Soon the Rohirrim start to show up and the atmosphere changes into surroundings that we haven’t seen before. Those of us who enjoy questing and adventuring will have an awesome time with this update.
For some inspiration you can listen to the Great River Soundtrack from the Lord of the Rings Trilogy movie here.

The Great River has a lot of promise in terms of new places, but more importantly a lot of new armour rewards can be obtained through questing that use the appearance of older raid armour and pvmp armour. So when going through the quests, check all the rewards for appearances by using the dressing room preview function (ctrl+leftclick). I have seen a few Mirkwood pieces but didn’t want to go too far into the quest lines, spoiling my own fun for the update, but I know a lot of desirable pieces are out there, so make some room in your vault!
Some new cosmetics are available for reaching kindred with the new factions. These are made according to the infamous Tunic & Pants model, but to my surprise they function like hauberks, with the possibility to add your own boots and gloves! I wish they would redesign all Tunics & Pants that way!

If you want to know where a certain armour piece or cosmetic comes from, you can look it up on Lotro Wiki, by typing its name into the search box. You can equip any piece of armour cosmetically through the wardrobe, even armour that is not meant for your class or level.

Head: Helm of Parted Clouds, sienna dye (boa lvl75 skirmish raid drop, heavy)
Shoulders: Shoulders of the Learned Master, rust dye (Mirkwood Medallions of Dol Guldur barter reward, lore-master)
Chest
: Footman’s Armour, sienna dye (crafted T6, medium)
Hands: Extravagant Festival Gloves, sienna dye (Yule Festival quest reward, cosmetic)
Legs: Footman’s Leggings, sienna dye (crafted T6, medium)
Feet: Wood-bound Boots, sienna dye (boa lvl75 skirmish raid drop, medium)
Back: Fine Radiant Cloak, rust dye (crafted T5, light)

8 comments

  1. Gorgeous outfit! I love how elaborate it looks, and I love brown and blue together.

    I’m totally with you on the tunic/pants combos acting like hauberks. If they revised the older ones to act like this too, I’d be a happy, happy outfitter. I’m excited to hear that there are some quest rewards in the Great River with the appearance of older raid and PVMP gear. Bring it on! :D

    • Hey Kemendin thank you for the kind compliment! The staff is a level 60 drop that I got from the AH (Swift Staff of Endurance). I keep about half a dozen staves in my vault for cosmetic purposes, hoping against hope that some day we will have cosmetic weapons. I hate the Thrid Age staves as from level 65-75 they all look exactly the same!! So much for legendary stuff… I prefer the lower level ones. Even found a level 10 staff that I absolutely adore!

  2. I believe the helm is the captain DN helm. The boots are definitely hunter DN boots. Both can be bartered for in Mirkwood as well which gives people even more options. :)

    I don’t remember the footman’s leggings looking so nice! I’ll have to take another look at them. :P Been a couple years since any toon wore them!

    Also thanks for the heads up about Mirkwood stuff popping up as cosmetics from questing.

    • You are correct about helm and boots. The 12-man skirmish raid drops are all copies from the Moria and Lothlorien raid armour pieces. However bartering in Mirkwood is always class specific, as you have to barter them at the trainer. The skirmish raid drops can be obtained by any class (but I advise to only roll on them for cosmetics if there are no “need” rolls).

Leave a Reply

