Cosmetic Lotro

Runecasting

Tolkien created a number of different alphabets to write his languages – he modelled Cirth on Anglo-Saxon and Norse Runes. Its function in his stories is for inscriptions in wood and stone, just as Runes were used in the real world.

There may be a lot of controversy about the existence of the Runekeeper in Lotro, but I happen to love the class. Unfortunately I made my elf too skinny when I created her, and usually have to find some bulkier clothes to fill her out. This robe is perfect for her. On top of that, it is a really nice robe for a runekeeper as it has a tiny satchel attached to the back.
I finally found the head piece that belongs to the Cel-crus set! I used it here as a hood to complement this robe. The hood did cause some bug in my dressing room, garbling up the colours of my cloaks and presenting itself with the wrong graphics, which I have reported. However, contrary to the chest piece, this hood dyes normally and can be used on all characters as far as I can tell.

Tip 1: did you know that you can dye all your rune satchels? Except the ones from the Lotro store (those remain turquoise), so don’t buy those!
Tip 2: did you know that you can equip ANY kind of rune satchel cosmetically through the wardrobe? Even non-identified legendary ones, the level doesn’t matter!
Tip 3: did you know that the very first legendary rune satchel that you receive is cosmically invisible? As long as you keep it, you can have a rune-keeper without a satchel!

If you want to know where a certain armour piece or cosmetic comes from, you can look it up in the Lorebook, by typing its name into the search box. You can equip any piece of armour cosmetically through the wardrobe, even armour that is not meant for your class or level.

Head: Urdhol-helm, black dye (boe Isengard instance drop level 75, light)
Chest : Ferrier’s Robe, black dye (Lotro store exclusive, cosmetic)
Shoulders: Westfold Campaign Shoulder Pads, black dye (crafted T7, light)
Hands: Isengard Prisoner Gloves, umber dye (Vol.III book 4 reward, cosmetic)
Feet: Disused Boots of the Dunland Soothsayer, black dye (Dunland quest reward, light)

8 comments

  1. A terrific outfit, as usual, Hymne! And I love the robe, but unfortunately its name is a typo. There’s no such thing as a ferrier. I suspect LOTRO meant either a farrier, who shoes horses, or a furrier, who cleans and dresses furs, and adds fur trim to clothing. Either one would be fitting.

    • Maybe it’s a Farrier who Ferries Furry horse shoes 🙂
      I don’t think there is a mistake in the naming though. Turbine is very careful that way. Some things in Middle Earth are just spelled differently and perhaps Ferrier is just an Olde Middle English spelling for the word. In any case, my Runekeeper isn’t changing any horse shoes for that matter. She wouldn’t get her tender hands in danger of any harm. 😉

      • I was intrigued, so I checked the Oxford English Dictionary, and in fact, “ferrier” is an archaic form of “ferryman.” In which case, please give my regards to Farmer Maggot when you see him!

  2. As always, this is a beautiful outfit. There really is a unique style to it, I could see this as a great inspiration for an interesting RP character. Ouch, now I wish I had a character slot open. X) Anyway, great job!

  3. I’ve just started using that robe (in burgundy) for my crafting outfit on one of my Elf characters. Thanks for the satchel tips, my RK hasn’t gotten her LI yet so I’ll keep that in mind!

  4. Galion Silevion

    Where do you acquire that? Please, it says nothing on wikipedia 🙂 I really LOVE that cosmetic! It’s beautiful for Forochel. Is it hard to acquire? Thank you.

    • Hello Galion, the pieces are always listed at the bottom of the post.
      As you can see the chestpiece (robe) comes from the Lotro store. There is no other way to acquire it, only with Turbine Points.

Leave a Reply

