Cosmetic Lotro

Westfold metalsmithing [beta outfit]

[SPOILER ALERT: this post contains screenshots from the Rise of Isengard beta]

Last in the display of crafted Isengard outfits is the heavy armour set. As it stands now all pieces that seem to match cosmetically can be dyed, except for the chest piece. I can put dye on the chest armour but nothing happens. I can preview the piece and select a different colour but nothing changes. In other words, I think it’s bugged, so I bugged it. As a result I have no idea which part of the armour would be the dyeable area.  It could be the belt and decorations, but it might as well be the ringmail itself. I really hope it can be fixed because not being able to dye such a large chest piece makes it less interesting as a cosmetic. The base colour (white) is very nice, but outfitters like options! I dyed the other pieces white to match the chest, but let’s see how it all works out on release.
In terms of other Isengard armour pieces (drops, rewards) I noticed some clipping here and there, especially on the new boots. I will bug all of the clipping that I find, hoping they fix it, but if nothing changes don’t blame me! At least I’m doing my best checking things out cosmetically :P
I love the helmet! I love the outfit overall as I think it really captures the Rohan style very well. The NPC’s in the Rohirrim camps are dressed very similarly, there was even an NPC sitting on his horse that I mistook for a player when I first entered the camp. The NPC’s are really very well done and for the first time I feel like we (the players) are not getting the short end of the outfit-stick compared to them.

Head: Strong Helmet of Théodred, white dye (T7 crafted Rohirrim rep, heavy)

Chest: Scorched Armour of Victory, white dye (T7 crafted, heavy) -cannot be dyed atm-

Shoulders: Calenard War Pauldrons, white dye (T7 crafted, heavy)

Hands: Calenard War Gauntlets, white dye (T7 crafted, heavy)

Feet: Westfold War Boots, white dye (T7 crafted, heavy)

7 comments

  1. I like the fact there are so many details in the outfit. The developers have done an amazing job at that. Personally, I’m not sure if I’d have it as an outfit, though. It seems rather… bulky, is that the word I’m looking for? But perhaps that’s because I’m working with hobbits right now and a few elves. I’ve got only 1 Man character, a female. Not sure if it would suit a female. And I’ve got one dwarf. Perhaps it might look good on dwarfs too. It will be something to try out in the future :)
    The detailing is amazing, though. I guess you can only see that amount of detailing when you’ve got a more detailed graphics pack displayed? Mine is the lowest possible. Apparently my videocard or whatever isn’t good enough to display wide scenery with details like I’ve the background here.
    Anyway, great job again and thanks for sharing!

    • I want too!! :D As far as I’m concerned anything I have on Bullroarer I don’t “really” have. It’s just for checking out what’s there. Upon release I will still have to go out and earn all that stuff for my characters, and I’m soooo looking forward to the adventure!! :D

  2. Pingback: LotRO Isengard Patch Note Overview « Kitty Kitty Boom Boom

Leave a Reply

